some studies

June 24, 2010

My friend Josh Addessi suggested to me that I do some studies on people and animals with interesting features:  various body structures, physical elements, features that make them stand out in a crowd, and things that can translate into fun cartoon characters and creatures.  I grabbed some photos from peopleofwalmart.com and google image search, and plan to just do some gesture sketches and quick renders, just to get a feel for doing more realistic type drawings.  The goal is that, ideally, the better I understand the way odd features work in real life, the better I can use them in cartoons.  Here’s a few sketches I did today.  I’m fairly uncomfortable with this kind of drawing, as you can see.  I still need quite a bit of practice.

Leave a Reply

