Drawing a Days #110 and 112

June 23, 2010

My sister and brother-in-law have commissioned me to do a series of pictures featuring their as yet unborn (but not for long!!) baby girl.  This is a couple of the rough sketches and concept art I’ve doodled trying to get a feel for what I want to do.  Bruna Brito and Mette Johnsen have been some pretty strong source material for me on this one.

7 Responses to “Drawing a Days #110 and 112”

  1. Josh Addessi Says:

    Ha, love the expression on her face! It’s like she just found a 20 smashed between the pages. And the walrus creepily stares her down. Great moment 😛

  2. bryan b Says:

    love the rawr pose, nice. I think Mette and Bruna would be proud.

  3. colephillips Says:

    thanks guys! i think this is gonna be a pretty fun project

  4. Muffin Says:

    Cuute! 🙂 I love the little girl reading to the walerus, her toes poking down like that. 🙂 I’m also loving the loose, yet confident lines you have here.
    The dressup outfit is supercute too! 🙂

  5. Amy Says:

    Cole, you are an amazing brother, and I am super grateful. My only request is that people know that BGC is reading to a manatee, not a walrus. Matt almost got yelled at this morning for calling it a walrus, even though he KNEW it was going to be a manatee! love you, buddy!

  6. colephillips Says:

    Mette: Thanks so much!

    Amy: Yeah. I noticed it looks like a walrus too, but I didn’t want to alter the design until I got some people’s reactions; won’t be difficult to fix, though. Whereas a walrus has a distinct head and snout, a manatee’s head kinda just blends right into its snout.

  7. Breadwig Says:

    I agree with Mette, your line quality is the tops.


Leave a Reply

