Thought bubbles are erupting around my head.

May 10, 2010

The concept of joy is something that has been in the forefront of my mind for some months now; recent circumstances that have resulted in the forfeiting of something indescribably valuable to me and that have caused many sleepless nights of thought have been accompanied by perhaps the deepest joy I’ve known in my twenty-one years.  Amidst sadness, sometimes confusion and ache, there has come to light a greater understanding what it is to be loved by God, and sustained by that love, and the culmination of the story, which will be to experience forever the very definition of joy in the presence of the very definition of Love.

I often feel tremendous sadness, and yet, even with that, I have found myself laughing and smiling more than I have ever before; not superficial laughing and smiling that comes from trying to hide from others how weak I really am.  It is the genuine laughter that comes from drawing a silly little monster or watching a campy movie or enjoying being in the presence of others.  It is genuine laughter that can exist in the company of genuine (sometimes borderline overwhelming) sadness, because of the knowledge of something greater than all of this.

I drew this little guy.  I hope he brings a smile to your heart.


2 Responses to “Thought bubbles are erupting around my head.”

  1. colleen Says:

    Did you draw that guy while you were waiting for Iron Man 2 to start? Because I might have been sitting behind you.

  2. colephillips Says:

    no, I drew this guy at church yesterday. But I did draw the creepy looking rat thing a few posts below at Iron Man.


Leave a Reply

