Exploration Sketches for Sherlock and Harker

April 6, 2010

I’ve  been playing with the idea lately of a couple characters:  a lion and ox, named Sherlock and Harker.  I’ve gathered my favorites of the character exploration sketches I’ve done for them, and grouped them in pairs that I think work well together.  More updates to come on these guys as I figure them out!

3 Responses to “Exploration Sketches for Sherlock and Harker”


  1. I think the blue ox on the top right is my favorite. He’s so charming. And the red lion below him seems to exist in the same world, though I must confess I am partial to the very first lion.

    This is really fun. What kind of personalities do these guys have?

  2. colephillips Says:

    Personalities haven’t been completely worked out yet–I think the final design of the characters will depend on that, too.
    For now, the basic premise of personality is that Sherlock (the lion) is rather reckless and spontaneous, and is always finding himself in some fix or another; Harker, the ox, is considerably more reserved (perhaps “responsible”) and tends to get himself into trouble because he was trying to keep Sherlock out of trouble.

  3. bryan b. Says:

    some really really really good stuff going on here.


Leave a Reply

