Suffering

February 9, 2009

death2

 

There are days when my own sadness makes me exceedingly aware that there is suffering in this world.  The pain that death and loss cause others in some way becomes my own; I feel their hurt, though perhaps I do not understand it, and my shoulders begin to take on the burden that they bear.  In that moment, nothing is more real than that sorrow; there is no condolence to override it, there is no magic blue pill to make it all disappear.  Rather, there is something far grander:  there is some connection, there is some love that binds me to the rest of this broken humanity, and out of these ashes spring the roots of compassion, not just sympathetic feelings, but true compassion in the biblical sense.  In these moments sadness can be overwhelming; happiness can seem far, far away; but the beauty of the moment, the brief understanding of humanity’s shattered state and the love that rises out of that far outweigh a temporary loss of the ability to smile.

2 Responses to “Suffering”

  1. Jimi Bonogofsky Says:

    Not only are your words very powerful, but so are the drawings you’ve been doing on this theme. I really like the juxtaposition of the darkness of this piece with the sun. It’s so cool how that sun’s presence almost doesn’t make sense, but it does, all the same. Erm, if *that* makes any sense.

  2. colephillips Says:

    thanks. when I drew it, I actually had no intention of any juxtaposition taking place; I only knew I felt sad inside and I was letting my hand do the rest. I think it turned out better than I expected, save a few things here and there.


Leave a Reply

