Heroes Children Church

February 6, 2009

I’m working on a logo for a church in North Carolina’s children’s program called “Heroes.” ┬áHere’s a few quick sketches I did.

heroes1heroes2heroes3heroes4

2 Responses to “Heroes Children Church”

  1. Jimi Bonogofsky Says:

    These are really fun, Cole! Are you somehow affiliated with this church; i.e. how did they come to ask you?

    I think my favorite one is the running guy with the banner, though that is less of a logo. As far as logo-y logos, I think I like the second drawing on the first page (below the circular one). I think its the most dynamic. I really like the idea for the circular one, it looks cool. Unfortunately, circular text logos are really hard to read. Maybe that’s just me.

    So yeah! Awesome sauce here, dog.

  2. colephillips Says:

    I agree. Circular text=bad. However, after I posted these, I did some more sketches and came up with some drawings that kinda look like coins or medallions, and I think they turned out alright. Kinda like a mini-logo, not meant to be the main thing.
    As far as how I got the job: I was working at a KOA campground last summer, and this particular family came to stay for a week or so; I got to hang out with them a bit while they were there, told them what I do and that I major in animation and blah blah and that I’d love to be able to do freelance work. We’ve kept in touch a little bit since then, and then, here I am now, doing a logo for them.


Leave a Reply

