a sketchbook doodle and some fun with textures

January 13, 2009

It’s been a loooooong time.  Here’s a couple things I had sitting around my desktop, and just now got to uploading.  The first is a sketch I did during church I think one time a while back; I photoshopped the color in.  The second is a digital texture creation I made for my sister and brother-in-law for Christmas.  I don’t really have a name for it; it was just a lot of fun to do.  Enjoy.

 

birds

 

mattnamy

7 Responses to “a sketchbook doodle and some fun with textures”

  1. Jimi Bonogofsky Says:

    Dude! Finally! I’ve been waiting with baited breath for so long. These are really cool. I think that first one seems kinda tattoo-ish. I really like the two birds. And the second one? Love it. You did a great job; really nice composition and organic lines (see how my 2D Design class came into play there?). Are those pink guys worms?

  2. Bryan B. Says:

    I agree with Jimi, that first one would make a great tattoo.

  3. Colleen Says:

    whoa cole! i am loving these, especially that first one.

  4. colephillips Says:

    yes, they’re worms. I had some trouble getting the brush to do exactly what I wanted it to, to there are parts of the worms that look kinda janky along the edges, but I think it helps out in the long run—makes it look like paper that was cut wrong, and it really works with the cut paper look.

  5. Amber Says:

    I think these are really good Cole!! I agree with everyone, the first one is awesome 🙂

  6. Andrew Says:

    dude, that’s butt kick awesome!
    i was totally thinking the tattoo thing too. but i think you should get just the crow on the opposite shoulder of your dove… you know, good, evil…. thing.

  7. colephillips Says:

    mmm…not totally sure I want a tattoo to remind me how jacked up I am. I’m pretty constantly aware of that as it is. But thanks for the butt kick awesome points; I can always a few more of those.


Leave a Reply

