Raya in color

November 18, 2008

I’ve been working on this for several hours over the course of several days, starting whatever day it was I posted the last post, and ending about 5 minutes ago.  I used the chalk brush in Painter X, and I actually spelled her name right this time.  Here she is:

rayajpeg

I’m not entirely satisfied with her.  I haven’t taken any figure drawing classes or anatomy classes, so I’m not the best at drawing or shading the human figure.  With Raya, I found particular frustration in trying to shade her chest; I don’t really know the curves on a woman’s chest–how her breasts slope from her ribcage, how prominent the collar bone is, and exactly where, how to shade that little dimple in the bottom of her neck.  Ultimately, I just had to resign myself to doing the best I could, and this is what I came up with.

I chose green for Raya because it is a very relaxing and unintimidating color, much like the love she has dominion over.  Her love is the love of friends, of people who enjoy each others’ company and like to hang out.  It’s a very gentle love, powered partially by emotion and partially by choice.  There is still room for growth in this love, just as the color green still leaves room for fear and excitement.

2 Responses to “Raya in color”

  1. Orie Says:

    For not taking any figure drawing, you aint doin too shabby. Nice texture on the wings.


  2. […] here to be directed to Raya Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Rayah• God Made Us […]


Leave a Reply

