Red Lady, and other red experiementations…

November 13, 2008

The past two days, I’ve been doing my sketches in red ink and pencil rather than my standard ultra fine tip black Sharpie.  These are a few of the things I’ve come up with during class and chapel.

 

Red Lady is based loosely (or rather, inspired by) Jimi’s many of drawings of girls’ faces.  I decided to try one of my own, in what was intended to be a similar fashion.

red-lady-small

 

 

Red Guy doesn’t really have any inspiration that I know of.  He kinda looks like something Leeper would draw, but I didn’t notice that til I was done sketching him.  The sketch initially started out as a kind of tribal mask, but this is ultimately what landed on my paper.

red-guy-small

 

Keep reading to see some more red experiments!

In light of the fact that it either is currently or very soon will be Diversity emphasis week or weekend or whatever on campus, I sketched this out during chapel this morning.  I kinda like the characters, but I completely made up everything about them–I would prefer to do a bit of research into some of the real traditional dress (and normal dress) from each culture before actually rendering them.  I’m pretty critical of other artists who don’t do their homework in that sense, so I’m pretty sensitive about whether I do it myself.  Anyway, enough yapping, here’s the pic:  the boy on the left is from Mexico, the boy in the middle is from India, the boy on the right is from the Canada/Alaska region

diversity-boys-small

 

 

For this last picture:  I’ve had a bit of a fascination lately with a very stylized, flat 2D kind of illustration, like one might see used for Kings and Queens in a deck of cards.  So I decided to try a sketch of my own based on this style, but it didn’t really turn out as I envisioned in my head.  I think I’m gonna keep experimenting with this style, though.  Here’s Aragorn:

aragorn-small

4 Responses to “Red Lady, and other red experiementations…”

  1. Jimi Bonogofsky Says:

    Whoa, I *love* the little ethnic kids! Especially the eskimo. He looks very cozy.

    Isn’t drawing in red fun? I’m really obsessed with it right now. What sort of pen were you using?

  2. colephillips Says:

    My personal favorite at the moment, Precise V5 Rolling Ball, Extra Fine.

  3. Jimi Bonogofsky Says:

    Oh gosh, I love those. I wish I had one. Someday I need to just go buy myself some pens. And… please read that last word very carefully, and note that it is not misspelled. P-e-n-s.

  4. Cole Says:

    wow…I wouldn’t have even thought about that if you hadn’t said anything…


Leave a Reply

